The other macropods, it is therefore classified as

0 Comment

The Swamp Wallaby belongs to the class of Mammalia and the order of Marsupial. The Swamp Wallaby is in the Macropodidae family along with other Wallabies. The Swamp Wallaby's scientific name is Wallabia Bicolor. A combination of genetic, reproductive, dental and behavioral characteristics separate the Swamp wallaby from all other macropods, it is therefore classified as the sole living member of the genus'Wallabia'.

The Swamp Wallaby lives in Eastern Queensland, Eastern New South Wales, Victoria, and Southeastern South Australia. The Wallaby inhabits thick undergrowth of dense forests. The Swamp Wallaby is also found in Eucalypt forests and in areas of long grass and ferns. In Australia the Swamp Wallaby is killed often for it's skins or because they are agricultural pests.

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

The Swamp Wallaby is a browser so it will eat just about any vegetation that grows near or around its habitat. Common foods of the Wallaby are various leaves, plants, fruits, vegetables, and grasses. The Swamp Wallaby is a solitary feeder, so you will never see one eating with another Wallaby. For their eating habitats of crop many Wallabies are hunted and referred to as a pest, The Swamp Wallaby is a very solitary animal and will not live with or around another Wallaby. The Swamp Wallaby is a nocturnal animal so it is most active during the night. Swamp wallabies can grow as large as 60 inches long (including tail) and weigh as much as 44 pounds.

Wallabies can breed continuously and have a gestation period of 33-39 days. The average life span of a Swamp Wallaby in the wild is about fifteen years…



I'm Adrienne!

Would you like to get a custom essay? How about receiving a customized one?

Check it out