0 Comment

Under Article 80, the Rajya Sabha consists of 12 members nominated by President and upto 238 representatives of States and of the Union territories.

The representatives of each State in the Council of States are elected by the elected members of the Legislative Assembly of the State in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of single transferable vote. The representatives of the Union territories in Rajya Sabha (Council of States) are chosen according to the law made by Parliament. Article 81 lays down the composition of the House of the People (Lok Sabha). The provision stipulates that the Lok Sabha shall consist of not more than 530 members, who are directly elected by the Lok Sabha constituencies in States and not more than 20 members from the Union territories.

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

The Constitution’s 91st Amendment of 2003 mandates that the total number of ministers including the Prime Minister in Lok Sabha shall not exceed 15% of the total number of members of Lok Sabha.


I'm Adrienne!

Would you like to get a custom essay? How about receiving a customized one?

Check it out