The Saffron in the flag denotes renunciation of

0 Comment

The Saffron in the flag denotes renunciation of disinterestedness. The White at centre is the light and path of truth to guide our conduct. The Green shows our relation to soil. The Ashoka Wheel or Ashoka Chakra in the centre is the wheel of Dharma. The Ashoka Chakra on the flag has 24 spokes and the ratio between the length and width of the flag has to be 3:2. The display of National Flag is governed by the provisions of Emblems and Names (Prevention of Improper Use) Act, 1950 and the Prevention of Insults to National Honour Act, 1971. The Flag Code of India, 2002 is a step to bring together all such laws, conventions, practices and instructions for the guidance in this respect.

The Flag Code of India consists of three parts namely:— (i) General description of National Flag, (ii) Display of National Flag by members of public, private organisations and educational institutions, (iii) Display of National Flag by Central and State Governments. In a landmark judgment in Jindal Group of Companies v. Union of India, the Supreme Court held that individual citizens have the right to fly national flag if they wish to, provided they do it with due respect to the flag.

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now


I'm Adrienne!

Would you like to get a custom essay? How about receiving a customized one?

Check it out